I’ve Gone ROGUE!!!

Okay, so I haven’t really gone rogue. I’ve just found Assassin’s Creed Rogue on sale (truthfully, Doug pointed it out to me this morning) on Amazon. Then, Walmart, being the customer pleasing corporation that they are, honored a price match that allowed me to buy this PS3 game for half the retail price. Here it is in all its glory:

AC Rogue

I know I mentioned in a previous post that I was an average guy who played video games. This is just a continuation of that, but in a completely different form. A few years ago, I used to play all the time, whenever I wanted to. But today, I can play during nap time and after 8pm when Thad goes to bed. I haven’t actually played any video games in the past 2-3 weeks, since right before Christmas when I finished the story line of the latest Call of Duty (COD) game. The reason is that I’ve found other things to do in life. I read more now than I ever did in my life. I help more with household chores – let’s be honest, in college guys are never the best at that. And, of course, I spend time with my son.

The gaming part of my life started when our family got a Nintendo when I was in kindergarten continued through junior high and really caught fire with FPS (First-Person Shooter) Counter-Strike for PC back in high school (15 years ago?!?! When did that happen!?!?), and then Halo for X-Box. But when the systems upgraded to the new technology, I fell behind a bit. Until I bought a PS3 and played COD with work friends. The past couple years have really slowed down in the game playing department. I did however pick up on a fun series of games that I really enjoy – Assassin’s Creed. In all, I’ve played through 6 Assassin’s Creed games. Rogue will be my 7th and possibly my last. See, Assassin’s Creed Unity is out right now as well, but only for PS4. I don’t own a PS4 and I have plenty of other things to spend my money on at this point in my life.

I still like to game a little when I can but nothing like I used to. There are still some weekends when the guys get together and play games. We enjoy those times hanging out like we used to in high school and college. It’s different though. First, we drink beer while playing now, not just Mtn Dew. Second, we go to bed earlier. No more all-nighters trying to beat Cruisin’ USA, playing Duck Hunt in the dorms or trying to win the Cup in NHL Hockey. Third, we don’t stay awake until the 2am Hardee’s run for sliders. Finally, we talk more about our kids now than we do about girls. Such is life.

Maybe having Thad and Little Ox #2 on the way have changed my perspective, or maybe they’ve changed how I value my time. Who knows, maybe I’m just growing up a little bit (is this a video game player’s mid-life crisis?). Realistically, I don’t see myself buying a new game system until Thad is maybe 10 or 12 years old and we agree it’s okay for him to have one. Then I can play games with him. Until then, I’m probably just going to enjoy this game as my last hurrah in video games for a long time. But knowing that I’ve already gone weeks – and in the past, sometimes months – without playing, I’m sure I’ll be alright.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

