What’s Your Favorite Movie?

It sounds like an easy question, right? What movie do you like above all others? Okay, so if you watch a lot of movies this might not be the easiest question. There are almost too many to choose from. Do you go with a classic like Casablanca? Do you go with classic slapstick comedy like Dumb & Dumber? Do you go with classic horror like A Nightmare On Elm Street or Halloween? Do you go with a more modern scary movie like Scream? Oh there are many more genres I’m not even touching on here.

Okay, I’ll go first. My favorite movie of all time is Out Cold:

Seize the Carp!

Seize the Carp!

Yes, this is one of the first movies you’ll ever see Zach Galifianakis in. And he doesn’t play the stupid character role. And he’s amazing in it! Out Cold is just good comedy to me. The best part, it has multiple nods to Casablanca! Hence recognizing great classic movies while creating a new completely opposite style of movie.

If you haven’t figured it out by my choice of movie, I love me some comedy. Not usually overly slapstick, but I’ll take those every once in a while. I’ll go for dry humor too. I may have been the only person in the theater (okay, there were only about 10 people there on a Tuesday night) who laughed out loud and uncontrollably during Burn After Reading. I even remember my parents saying they saw that movie and didn’t like it. Then I started quoting it and had them laughing at it.

Sometimes a movie is better when you see it with other people. Sometimes it is better when it’s quoted after seeing it once than it is to watch it again. Yes, I’m talking about you Napoleon Dynamite.

I’ve said before that I worked at a video store for four years in college. I watched all sorts of crap (free rentals FTW!) while I worked there. I like all sorts of movies, not just comedy. I also really like suspense movies and a good action flick. Wicker Park had me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. The Expendables let me not think yet enjoy a bunch of action. I guess the same could be said for any of the Transformers movies.

See, these aren't comedies.

See, these aren’t comedies.

I could go on and on listing movies I’ve really liked (Grind, Garden State, Road Trip, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Varsity Blues, Mallrats, Office Space, Cruel Intentions), but I think everyone can do that. I’ve just seen a lot more of the B movies than most due to my part-time college employment.

Yes, I own all the movies I listed in this paragraph.

Yes, I own all the movies I listed in this paragraph.

Speaking of college, we always played the six degrees of Kevin Bacon game, but to try to connect one actor to another in as few movies as possible. We may have connected John Wayne to Megan Fox in about four movies. Lots of good conversations there. Go ahead and try it at your next party. We’ve also had entire conversations just using movie quotes, and they made perfect sense! I’m sure a lot of people can do that too.

Okay, I could probably talk about movies forever, but I’ve got to stop somewhere. So, “What’s your favorite scary movie?” Err…umm…just plain what’s your favorite movie?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

