The Lazy Sunday Dog

Here’s how we ended up with Sophie, our Regal Dog:

I drove to Grand Forks, North Dakota, to pick up our dog, Sophie. She was previously picked out online by my wife, but she had no clue I was picking up the dog and I had reserved the pup until I got there. I drove North and picked up Sophie three weeks before Christmas in 2010, then drove to Aberdeen to drop her off with friends who I’d asked to watch her, and then drove home to Brookings. Melissa had no clue. On Christmas day in Aberdeen, Sophie was delivered and Melissa pretty much cried at being surprised with the puppy she wanted. (A ginormous amount of husband points were earned that day.)

Puppy Sophie

Puppy Sophie

Four years later, this is how our puppy looks (with some weird guy taking a selfie):

Sophie Today

Sophie Today

And yes, she is lazy today…

Lazy Puppy

Lazy Puppy

I guess Sophie did learn how to sleep. When she was puppy, it was pretty common to find her sleeping on her back.

Back Sleeping Puppy

Back Sleeping Puppy

Of course when she was sleeping like that she was happy as can be. And we love our Sophie girl. Whether she’s sleeping on her back, chasing Thad around trying to get his snacks, keeping watch over the back yard or stealing all of our foot room on the bed at night.

I know I’ve said in the past, “If we can keep a dog alive, then we’re probably okay to have kids.” Thus, here we are today with a dog, a kid and another baby on the way. Bringing Sophie home as a puppy seems like yesterday; it’s amazing how time flies. Yet it feels like Sophie, and now Thad, have been in our lives forever.

Here’s to you, Regal Dog!

He's talking about me.

He’s talking about me.

I love my mom.

I love my mom.

I watch over my family like a guard dog.

I watch over my family like a guard dog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

