Time To Hit The Links

Call it “The Masters Fever.” Or call it warm weather and nice days outside. Actually, call it whatever you want, I’m jones-ing for some golf!  It doesn’t help that at my church board meeting tonight, a guy on my board brought me a gift: more ammo!

GOLF BALLS!!!

GOLF BALLS!!!

Golf balls. Yes, a full bag of them. He gave me a similar sized bag about 3 years ago and I still haven’t used them all.

Here’s the full story. Wally is retired and usually goes golfing every morning in the summer. Sometimes coming to sign in and pay for his completed round as the course workers are getting ready to start their day. He’s told me about coming in to pay and the workers telling him he couldn’t golf that day due to a tournament; he had already played his round. Anyway, he finds golf balls that were left on the course all the time. Bags full, as you can see.

I’m grateful that he picks them up and gives them away to people like me. I’m not the best golfer and the brand name on the golf ball isn’t going to help my game. It could make me feel like I’m a legit player, but it’s pretty much a placebo when it comes to this inconsistent baseball swing.

He’s also going to give a bag or two of golf balls to The First Tee of South Dakota at Edgebrook Golf Course. If you don’t know what that is, check out this link. (Shameless plug for a fellow fraternity brother’s efforts to bring this opportunity to kids in Brookings.) I suggest hitting up their Facebook page from that link.

So, here I am, sitting at a computer typing away when I’d rather be golfing. I think I made it out to the course 6 or 7 times last year. This year, I’m going to aim for double digits…as long as my wife’s okay with that, of course.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

